web analytics

Copying and Erasing Configuration Files

The configuration process updates the running-config file, which is lost if the router loses
power or is reloaded. Clearly, IOS needs to provide us a way to copy the running configuration
so that it will not be lost, so it will be used the next time the switch reloads or
powers on. For instance, Example 6-5 ended with a different running configuration (with
the hostname jessie command) versus the startup configuration.

In short, the EXEC command copy running-config startup-config backs up the runningconfig
to the startup-config file. This command overwrites the current startup-config file
with what is currently in the running-configuration file.

In addition, in lab, you may want to just get rid of all existing configuration and start over
with a clean configuration. To do that, you can erase the startup-config file using three different
commands:
write erase
erase startup-config
erase nvram:

Once the startup-config file is erased, you can reload or power off/on the switch, and it will
boot with the now-empty startup configuration.

Note that Cisco IOS does not have a command that erases the contents of the runningconfig
file. To clear out the running-config file, simply erase the startup-config file, and
then reload the switch, and the running-config will be empty at the end of the process.

NOTE Cisco uses the term reload to refer to what most PC operating systems call rebooting
or restarting. In each case, it is a re-initialization of the software. The reload EXEC command
causes a switch to reload.

Subscribe To Get

Latest IT certification News 

Help You Pass Any IT Exam